





DOES THE 'WEST' STILL EXIST? AMERICA AND EUROPE MOVING TOWARDS 2020

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Hon. Elliott Abrams Deputy Assistant to the President of the United

States and Deputy National Security Advisor for

Global Democracy Strategy

Professor Gilles Andréani Adjunct Professor, Paris II, Panthéon-Assas University;

former Director of Planning Staff, French Foreign

Ministry, and Senior Inspector, Cour de Compte

Hon. Anthony Beilenson Former Member of the United States House of

Representatives, D-CA

Professor Philip Bobbitt A.W. Walker Centennial Chair of Law, *University of*

Texas

Professor Tiziano Bonazzi Professor of Contemporary History, University of

Bologna

Dr Sarmila Bose Director, Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism

Ambassador R. Nicholas Burns Undersecretary of State for Political Affairs, United

States Department of State

David Cohen Chairman, Reit Property Management India

Dr Dieter Dettke Executive Director, Washington Office, Friedrich

Ebert Foundation; Fellow, Woodrow Wilson

International Center for Scholars

Professor Wim van den Doel Professor of Contemporary History and Chair,

Department of History, University of Leiden

Francis Finlay Chairman and CEO, Clay Finlay Inc.

Professor Joschka Fischer Visiting Professor, Woodrow Wilson School of Public

and International Affairs, Princeton University; and

former Foreign Secretary, Germany

Dr Paul Flather Secretary-General, The Europaeum

Hon. Martin Frost Former Member of the United States House of

Representatives, D-TX

Professor Curt Gasteyger Director, Association for the Promotion and Study of

International Security

Jean-Louis Gergorin Council Member, International Institute for Strategic

Studies; former Executive Vice-President, European

Aeronautic Defence and Space Company

Professor James Goldgeier Public Policy Scholar, Woodrow Wilson International

Center for Scholars; Professor of Political Science and International Relations, George Washington University

Dr Thomas Graham Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director

of Russian Affairs

Sir Ronald Grierson Chairman of the International Advisory Board, The

Blackstone Group; and former Vice-Chairman, General

Electric Company

Xavier Guerrand-Hermès Chairman of the Board, Guerrand-Hermès Foundation

General Lord Guthrie Director, N. M. Rothschild and Sons

Ambassador Richard Haass President, Council on Foreign Relations

Professor Christian Hacke Chair of Political Science and Contemporary History,

University of Bonn

Lee Hamilton Director, Woodrow Wilson International Center for

Scholars

Sasha Havlicek Executive Director, Weidenfeld Institute for Strategic

Dialogue

Dr John Hillen President, Global Strategies Group (USA) LLC, and

former Assistant Secretary for Political-Military

Affairs, United States Department of State

Jim Hoagland Associate Editor, and Senior Foreign Correspondent,

Washington Post

Dr Robert Hunter Senior Advisor, RAND Corp.; and former US

Ambassador to NATO

Ambassador Wolfgang Ischinger German Ambassador to the United Kingdom

Vernon Jordan Senior Managing Director, Lazard Freres & Co. LLC

Pierre Keller Former Senior Partner, Lombard, Odier, Darier,

Hentsch, and Cie

Dr Geoffrey Kemp Director of Regional Strategic Programs, The Nixon

Center

Fred Kempe President and Chief Executive Officer, Atlantic

Council of the United States

Bridget Kendall Diplomatic Correspondant, BBC

Nemir Kirdar President and CEO, *Investcorp*

Dr Henry Kissinger Chairman, Kissinger Associates, Inc; former National

Security Advisor, and Secretary of State, United

States Department of State

Dr Charles Krauthammer Columnist, Washington Post

Professor Charles Kupchan Director of Europe Studies, Council on Foreign

Relations; Professor of International Relations,

Georgetown University

Pierre Lellouche Member of French Parliament

Ambassador Jean-David Levitte French Ambassador to the United States

Michael Lewis CEO, Oceana Investment Corp

Michael Maclay Executive Chairman, Montrose Associates

Ambassador Sir David Manning British Ambassador to United States

Dr Mark Medish Vice President for Studies – Russia, China, Eurasia

Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

Andrew Nagorski Senior Editor, Newsweek

Dame Pauline Neville-Jones Chairman, Information Assurance Advisory Council

(IAAC); and International Governor, BBC

Dr Robin Niblett Director, Chatham House

Wolfgang Nowak Spokesman of the Executive Board, Alfred Herrhausen

Society for International Dialogue; and former State

Secretary, Federal Chancellery of Germany

Ambassador Dr Eva Nowotny Austrian Ambassador to the United States

Professor Joseph Nye Dean, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard

University; and former Chairman, National Security

Council and Assistant Secretary of Defence

Ana Palacio Senior Vice-President and Group General Counsel,

World Bank

Rt Hon Lord Patten Chancellor, *University of Oxford*; former Governor of

Hong Kong, and European Commissioner for External

Relations

Dr Minxin Pei Senior Associate and Director, China Program,

Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

Robert A. Perlman Chairman, CRU

Representative Thomas Petri Member of the United States House of

Representatives, R-I

Hella Pick AMERUS Co-ordinator, Weidenfeld Institute for

Strategic Dialogue, and former Diplomatic Editor, The

Guardian

Sir Evelyn de Rothschild Chairman, Concordia

Lynn Forester de Rothschild Founder and CEO, ELR Holdings, LLC

Ambassador Klaus Scharioth German Ambassador to the United States

Dr Lilia Shevtsova Senior Associate, Carnegie Endowment for International

Peace

Raja Sidawi Chairman, RWS Energy Services

Professor Ryszard Stemplowski Director, The Polish Institute of International Affairs,

Warsaw

Philip Stephens Associate Editor, Financial Times

Joris Vos President of EU and NATO relations, Boeing; and

former Netherland's Ambassador to Russia, NATO,

and the US

Gijs de Vries EU Counter-terrorism Coordinator (in EU

Commission under Solana), The Council of the

European Union

Sir Stephen Wall Former Head of the European Secretariat, and

European advisor to the Prime Minister

Mark Warner Honorary Chairman, Forward Together PAC, and

former Governor of the State of Virginia, USA

Dr Samuel Wells Associate Director, Woodrow Wilson International

Center for Scholars

Poju Zabludowicz Chairman and CEO, Tamares Group